Authorize Only vs Authorize and Capture

As a merchant you have a choice to select either Authorize Only or Authorize and Capture as the Sezzle payment setting in an eCommerce platform. This page explains the difference between the two, in detail.

  • Authorize Only
    -- Payment will only be automatically authorized, not captured, after a successful checkout.
    -- In the History section of order details, the Captured field displays 0, and Not Captured displays the order amount.
    -- If Authorize Only is set, you must capture the order amount manually before the auth is expired in order to mark the payment as paid.

  • Authorize and Capture
    -- Payment is captured automatically after a successful checkout
    -- In the History section of order details, the Captured field displays the order amount, and Not Captured displays 0.

NOTE:

  • The default auth expiration is 30 minutes. You can extend this, to a maximum of seven days.

  • After the auth is expired, capturing is denied and the remaining uncaptured amount is released.

  • The order will be deleted if the order total is not captured before the auth expiration

  • Payment is said to be paid only if the payment amount is captured

  • If Not Captured appears in the order amount, and Captured in the History section of order details in the Merchant Dashboard shows a value of 0, the order amount is not captured yet. The order will be deleted if the amount is not captured before the auth is expired.

To change auth expiration in Merchant Dashboard:

  1. Log in to your Merchant Dashboard account
  2. Go to the ecommerce tab and click update.
  3. Set the value for days, hours, and minutes and click confirm.